Articles

To Kill A Mockinbird

In Libros on mayo 5, 2015 by dewmarch Etiquetado:

This is the first time I read a book in English and it was quite a challenge. I hope I’ll read it in English again and I hope I’ll watch the movie soon and I’ll read the book once more, but this time in Spanish, and that won’t be any time soon.

The book is pretty and it has memorable characters. It happens in Maycomb, a (non-existent) town in the South of the United States. That made it more difficult to me to read it in English because it has the slang of Southern peolple and the main characters are children, so they use that slang a lot. I began by looking every strange word in the dictionary, but it was making my reading so slow that I dropped it. Later I realized that many words I looked for weren’t actually words, but contractions of them. It was the best decision to stop looking in the dictionary.

Getting back to the book, the story is told by Scout Finch, an orphan child who lives with her bro and dad. And that is the story of those two children, and their family, and their town and neighborghs, and people from the South and negroes. It has so many lessons on love and respecting others that I would really like my niece and nephew to read it when they grew up a little bit more.

And you shoud read it too. It’s worth it.

Responder

